The historic Steveston Hotel, formerly the Sockeye Hotel, was established in 1895 and has always been a popular meeting place for local residents, fishermen, and visitors. The Steveston Hotel has a colourful past. In July 1900, during the fishing strike, the hotel was home to the Duke of Connaught’s troops and is one of the few buildings to survive the fire of May 1918. The Steveston Hotel boasts a popular Cafe serving breakfast until 2pm, the Buck Ear Pub serving lunch and dinner, and a liquor store. Located only 12 km from Vancouver International Airport, 5 km from Richmond Shopping Centre and the Richmond Olympic Oval, and located in the popular Steveston Village area. Activities and services nearby include whale-watching adventure tours, visiting the fishing docks and their many shops and eateries, browsing through unique boutiques, leisurely strolls along the dyke, and a choice from many tasty fresh seafood restaurants. Perfectly located for exploring the area.